Crush

“This is not done,” she said. “I believe I had better report this to U– now.”
“Oh! Why?”
“How else will you learn your lesson?” she said.
“You seem to believe I’ve tried to put you down.”
“If you hadn’t needed me to sign off your code, why did you ask me to review it?”
“Please let me explain. It was urgent to send the code through. And you weren’t answering the phone.”
“Right.” She looked sideways. He felt the earth move under his feet.
“Pardon me this once. I’ve got the lesson, I suppose.” His eyes were shimmering.
“Have you?” she said, looking straight into his eye.
“Yes.” He tried to look squarely at her for a moment, but couldn’t help looking at his feet right after, instead.
“Alright. This is strike one, though.”
“I understand.”
“Coffee?” she suggested.
“What? Pardon me, I mean.”
She grinned.
“I’m sorry, I couldn’t get you.”
“Let’s go down for a coffee.”
“Is this a dream?” he thought to himself.
“Shall we?” she repeated. He had never seen such a big grin before.
“Sure, why not?” he said after hesitating for a moment.

“This must be how it feels to lose one’s heart to someone”, he thought. His mind was ecstatic. His face, however, had contorted into a strange mix of exhilaration and anxiety.

He thought it best to savour the moment while it lasted.

Leave a Reply

